Previewing May Madness

The Women’s Auxiliary of the Music Academy of the West celebrated the upcoming May Madness Treasure Hunt with a luncheon on February 2 at Birnam Wood Golf Club followed by mahjong and bridge. Each member was asked to bring a treasure as a donation for the Boutique at the May Madness Treasure Hunt sale scheduled for Saturday, May 5 and co-chaired by Judy Mack and Joann Rodrigue.

Judy Bartholomew, Cynthia Thoreson, Gail Gelles and Betty Meyer are a few of the Sustaining Auxiliary Members that joined in for the fun and games at Birnam Wood. Some of the Active Auxiliary Members in attendance were Ricky Allen, Pat Andersons, Mary Carpenter, Betsy Edwards, Nan Holt, Georgia Lynn, Catherine Keneally, Carole MacElhenny and Bobbe Mullen.

For the big day of the May Madness Treasure Hunt, Rochelle Barattucci and Rosa Markolf will be co-chairs for the Art Department and Sara Sewell will be the chair of the bakery. Catherine Keneally will organize books while Deborah Ward, manager of the Treasure House, will be in charge of furniture. The cache at the boutique will be co-chaired by Sally Clyne, Pat Tenny and Allen.

Sally Hill and Monica Tucker will be chairs for the Garden Department, always a delight for the senses, while Ellen Pillsbury, Peggy Ittner and MacElhenny handle the Linen Department. The Miscellaneous Department, everything from vases to kitchen utensils, will be co-chaired by Nan Holt and Bethel Mather, co-chairs Kathy Bielen and Marian Christopher are in charge of the Men’s Department and responsibilities for the Women’s Clothing Department will be handled by Kathleen Wathen and Lynn LeCouvre, who is also manager of The Rack.

Carol Schleck will be community volunteer chairman while Georgia Lynn will be organizing the information booth. Sydney Tredick has the delicate job of liaison chairman and Natalie McFadden will be in charge of nametags. Mary Carpenter is organizing the aprons that each volunteer wears to identify themselves as workers. Organizing and serving lunch to all of the auxiliary members, volunteers and staff will be Cynthia Thoreson, Jane Catlett, Cynthy Ardell and Justy Person. Carole Halsted will be in charge of parking and the shuttle.

Security of the grounds and the buildings will be handled by Betsy Edwards, Nancie Taylor-Daley and Deanna Hatch. The supplies will be furnished and accounted for by Ann Brady and Elaine Heavner.

Donations are now being requested and accepted and may be dropped off at 1070 Fairway Road between 10 am to 3 pm, Monday through Friday. All donations are tax-deductible and all proceeds benefit the Music Academy of the West.

For more information call 969-4726.